SCMA Announces 2024 Nominees

by Saskatchewan Country Music Association

April 2, 2024 in Industry News

The Saskatchewan Country Music Association announces nominees for the 2024 SCMA Awards in Lloydminster Presented by Access Communications Co-operative. Leading the nominations this year is Jake Vaadeland with six in total, including Male Artist of the Year and Fan's Choice. Shantaia is coming off a great 2023 and has five in 2024, including Female Artist and Country Album of the Year.

The SCMA Awards Show is set to take place on Saturday June 22nd, 2024, in Lloydminster at the Vic Juba Community Theatre. More information is available at

The nominees for the 35th Annual SCMA Awards are as follows:

Female Artist of the Year
Amy Nelson
Jordyn Pollard
Karissa Hoffart
Katelyn Lehner
Teagan Littlechief

Male Artist of the Year
Brody Siebert
Chris Henderson
Jake Vaadeland
JJ Voss
Justin LaBrash

Group of the Year
The Crosby Harle Band
Last Birds
Munro & Patrick

Indigenous Artist of the Year
Berk Jodoin
Darryl Anderson
Teagan Littlechief
Yvonne St. Germaine

Songwriter of the Year
"Aces & 8's", Songwriters: Berk Jodoin and Aspen Beveridge, Artist: Berk Jodoin
"Black N' Blue", Songwriter: Tommy John Ehman, Artist: Tommy John Ehman
"Damaged Goods", Songwriters: Shantaia Poulin, Adam Wheeler, David Borys, Artist: Shantaia
" I Ain't Going Back To Nashville", Songwriter: Jake Vaadeland, Artist: Jake Vaadeland
"It's All I Need", Songwriter: Donny Parenteau, Artist: Donny Parenteau
"She Got It From Her Mama", Songwriters: Brock Andrews and Jeff Johnson, Artist: Brock Andrews
"Sounds Like Heaven", Songwriters: Lindsay Arnold and Mike Davis, Artist: Last Birds

Emerging Artist of the Year
The Crosby Harle Band
Dan Cugnet
Darryl Anderson
Glen Strong
Joshua Stumpf

Country Album of the Year
Drinkin' In Public, Artist: BRUIN
Exes and Friends, Artist: Shantaia
Nathan Davis, Artist: Nathan Davis

Alternative Country Album of the Year
"Badlands", Artist: Dan Cugnet
"Badlands II", Artist: Dan Cugnet
"Endless Turn of Day Into Night", Artist: Last Birds
"She's a Story", Artist: Jackie K

Video of the Year
Damaged Goods, Artist: Shantaia, Director: Ryan Nolan
I Ain't Going Back to Nashville, Artist: Jake Vaadeland, Director: Sawyer Edworthy
Missing You, Artists: Munro & Patrick , Director: Caleb James
Running Away, Artist: Justin LaBrash, Director: Prehistoric Productions
Upside of Being Down, Artist: Jordyn Pollard, Director: Kim Capiral, Narra Studios

Interactive Artist or Group of the Year
Amy Nelson
Darryl Anderson
Jake Vaadeland
Justin LaBrash
Katelyn Lehner

Bass Player of the Year
Brandon Ziola
Luke Hunter
Mick Gratias
Parker Nabis
Terry Hoknes

Drummer of the Year
Carter Kent
Darcy Deschambault
Dusty Hunter
Kurtis Kopp

Guitar Player of the Year
Brock Hunter
Jake Vaadeland
Keegan Barker
Nick Strelic
Scott Patrick
Terry Lasko

Keyboard Player of the Year
Amy Nelson
Jackie Kroczynski
Jeffrey Straker
Terry Hoknes
Wayne Honig

Radio Station of the Year - Major Market
Prince Albert - Saskatchewan Country CKBI (900 AM)
Regina - 620 CKRM (620 AM)
Regina - Pure Country 92.7 (92.7 FM)
Saskatoon - 92.9 The Bull (92.9 FM)
Saskatoon - CJWW 600 (600 AM)

Radio Station of the Year - Secondary Market
Estevan - Country 106.1 FM (106.1 FM)
Melfort - FM Country CJVR (105.1 FM)
North Battleford - Saskatchewan Country CJNB (1050 AM)
Weyburn - Country 106.7 FM (106.7 FM)
Yorkton - GX94 (940 AM)

On-Air Personality of the Year
Chase Hussey
Cody Glydon
Courtney Fielder
Jason Lee
Matt Ryan

Music Director of the Year
Courtney Fielder
Danny Ismond
Matt Bradley

Record Producer of the Year
Producers: Aspen Beveridge and Berk Jodoin, Aces & 8's, Performing Artist: Berk Jodoin
Producer: Aspen Beveridge, Drink Me a Lullaby, Performing Artist: Joshua Stumpf
Producer: Bart McKay, Love Me Like an Outlaw, Performing Artist: Kalsey Kulyk
Producer: Bart McKay, Drinking With the Boys, Performing Artist: Adam Johnson
Producer: Bart McKay, Single at a Wedding, Performing Artist: Jordyn Pollard
Producer: Bart McKay, Upside of Being Down, Performing Artist: Jordyn Pollard
Producer: Donny Parenteau, It's All I Need, Performing Artist: Donny Parenteau

Recording Studio of the Year
Big Bang Studios
Contrast Recording
Facca Audio
SkullCreek Studio
Saskatoon Music Recording Studio

Country Music Person of the Year
Bart McKay
Jerad Bowes
Larry Krause
Matt Ryan

Music Venue of the Year
The Bassment
Capitol Music Club
Coors Event Centre
Hank's Tavern
Longbranch Good Times Beverage Company

Music Festival of the Year
All Folk'd Up
Country at the Creek
Country Thunder Saskatchewan
Dog Patch Music Festival
Waskesiu Lakeside Music Festival

Fans Choice Entertainer of the Year
Brody Siebert
Hunter Brothers
Jake Vaadeland
Justin LaBrash
Teagan Littlechief

Single of the Year
Burning Down the Barn - Hunter Brothers
Girl to Girl - Tenille Arts
Hung Over You - Shantaia
Peace, Love & Country Music - Hunter Brothers
What Colour You Drive - Hunter Brothers


About the SCMA

The Saskatchewan Country Music Association is a non-profit organization, dedicated to the promotion, development, and enhancement of all aspects of Saskatchewan country music at the local, national, and international level.

The SCMA endeavors to create venues for the promotion of Saskatchewan country artists through sponsorship of its own events, such as the annual SCMA Awards, and involvement in other organization’s events.

Boasting a list of amazing talent, it is easy to see why the SCMA is so successful! Become a part of one of the most exciting music organizations in Canada today, by becoming a member of THE association for Country Music in Saskatchewan!