SaskMusic and Artists at Breakout West 2019, Whitehorse, YT

SaskMusic and Artists at Breakout West 2019, Whitehorse, YT

by SaskMusic

September 30, 2019 in SaskMusic News

BreakOut West is an annual music event that includes a four-day conference, three-night music festival, and the Western Canadian Music Awards. BreakOut West is hosted by the Western Canadian Music Alliance. The Western Canadian Music Alliance is an organization created by the Music Industry Associations (MIA’s) of British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, The Northwest Territories, the Yukon Territory, and Nunavut, to promote and celebrate western Canadian music.

Every year the event is held in a different western Canadian city on a rotational basis. This year, the event will be held in Whitehorse, YT, from October 2-6, 2019. BreakOut West is comprised of a four-day music conference, a three-night multi-genre music festival, the Western Canadian Music Awards Reception and the Western Canadian Music Industry Awards Brunch.

BreakOut West Festival is an incredible opportunity for music discovery! Three nights, 50+ bands 110+ shows. One wristband for only $20

Saskatchewan Artists Schedule:

Thursday, October 3

  • Etienne Fletcher – 10:15pm at Town and Mountain
  • Beach Body – 11:15pm at Town and Mountain

Friday, October 4

  • Ava Wild – 8:00pm at the Visitor Info Center
  • The Won’ts – 8:45pm at the Gold Pan Saloon
  • Beach Body – 9:30pm at The Local Bar
  • Alex Bent + The Emptiness – 10:15pm at Town and Mountain
  • Marissa Burwell – 11:00pm at the Visitor Info Center
  • Trash Hawks – 11:00pm at Town and Mountain
  • Ponteix – 11:45pm at Gold Pan Saloon
  • Etienne Fletcher – 11:45pm at Old Fire Hall

Saturday, October 5

  • Ponteix – 5:00pm in Conference Room 2 at the Westmark Hotel (francophone mixer)
  • Marissa Burwell – 8:00pm at Old Fire Hall
  • Beach Body – 9:30pm at Town and Mountain
  • Ava Wild – 9:30pm at Old Fire Hall
  • Trash Hawks – 9:30pm at Dirty Northern/Miner’s Daughter
  • Alex Bent + The Emptiness – 10:15pm at Gold Pan Saloon
  • The Won’ts – 11:00pm at Town and Mountain

Along with the above artist appearances, we send good luck to award nominees:

Blues Artist of the Year: Jack Semple   

BreakOut Artist of the Year: Foxwarren   

Country Artist of the Year: Hunter Brothers   

Francophone Artist of the Year: Ponteix; Shawn Jobin; Vaero   

Instrumental Artist of the Year: West of Mabou   

Jazz Artist of the Year: Al Muirhead   

Metal / Hard Music Artist of the Year: Shooting Guns   

Producer of the Year: Rayannah & Mario Lepage – MB / SK

Recording of the Year: Foxwarren   

Rock Artist of the Year: Foxwarren; The Sheepdogs   

Roots Duo/Group of the Year: Rosie & the Riveters   

Roots Solo Artist of the Year: Belle Plaine   

Urban Artist of the Year: LOA; Samurai Champs   

Visual Media Composer of the Year: Jared Robinson, “Canadian Mental Health Association 100 Year Anniversary;” Jeffery Straker, “The Storm Orchestral”

Industry Awards: Excellence in Visual Design: Chris Morin