SaskMusic Announces the Nominees for the 2018 Saskatchewan Music Awards

SaskMusic Announces the Nominees for the 2018 Saskatchewan Music Awards

The awards ceremony will take place Sunday, November 25 at The Exchange in Regina.

by SaskMusic

November 13, 2018 in Industry News


SaskMusic will honour excellence, and celebrate the achievements of our music industry members over the past year with the Saskatchewan Music Awards. The awards will kick off the week designated as Saskatchewan Music Week in the province by the Government of Saskatchewan (November 26-December 2/2018).

The awards ceremony will take place Sunday, November 25 at The Exchange, 2431 8th Avenue, Regina at 7:30pm. Tickets are on sale now via

In addition to the categories listed, we will recognize the Single of the Year, and the Breaking Borders Award will be presented by the Derek Bachman Foundation. The long list of Best Saskatchewan Albums will also be announced with public voting to commence online the following day.

Award show hosts are Kris Alvarez and Jayden Pfeifer. Performers will include Andino Suns, Megan Nash, T-Rhyme, Chris Henderson with Poor Nameless Boy, Natural Sympathies, and Factor Chandelier.

An official after-awards party will be held at Revival Music Room, Dewdney Avenue, with performances by Megan Nash with Bears in Hazenmore, T-Rhyme, Surf Dads and surprise artists beginning at 10:30pm.
After-party tickets available at

For more information please contact Michael Dawson, Executive Director, SaskMusic; or 1-800-347-0676.

Official 2018 Saskatchewan Music Award Nominees
Alternative Artist of the Year
Bears in Hazenmore
Close Talker
Megan Nash
Nick Faye & The Deputies
The Garrys
Avant Garde/Experimental Artist of the Year
Factor Eight
Jesse Brown
Marie-Véronique Bourque
Steve Leidal
Wolf Willow
Country Artist of the Year
Blake Berglund
Jay Semko
Jess Moskaluke
Justin LaBrash
Tenille Arts
Electronic Artist of the Year
Natural Sympathies
Indigenous Artist of the Year
Dale Mac
Joey Stylez
Marentin Fehr
Hip Hop Artist of the Year
Factor Chandelier
Samurai Champs
Shawn Jobin
Metal/Loud Artist of the Year
Altars of Grief
Blue Youth
Hell Hounds
Shooting Guns
Soul Mates
Rock/Pop Artist of the Year
One Bad Son
Surf Dads
The Pistolwhips
The Sheepdogs
Roots/Folk Artist of the Year
Colter Wall
Ellen Froese
Jeffery Straker
Kacy & Clayton
Rosie & the Riveters
Venue of the Year
Blenders Music Series at the Lyric Theatre, Swift Current
Capitol Music Club, Saskatoon
Ness Creek Music Festival, Big River
The Broadway Theatre, Saskatoon
The Exchange, Regina
Producer of the Year
Bart McKay
Factor Chandelier
Jason Plumb
Jonathan Cruz and Leonard Chan of VBRTR
Ryan Andersen
Industry Achievement Award
91.3FM CJTR, Regina Community Radio
Lucy James - Jam Street Music Sessions
Shann Gowan
Susan Busse
The Broadway Theatre