2018 Sask Country Music Award Winners

SCMA Honours Its Finest at Gala Awards Show & Banquet

by Saskatchewan Country Music Association

May 1, 2018 in Industry News

Adapted from press release posted on www.scma.sk.ca.

It was an exceptional night for Tenille Arts at the 29th Annual Saskatchewan Country Music Awards held April 28 in Prince Albert SK. Arts received top honours in all her nominated categories: Songwriter of the Year (Tenille Arts, Adam Wheeler & Mark Narmore for “Rain Drops, Dirt Roads”), Album of The Year (Rebel Child), Video of the Year (Cold Feet, Patrick Tohill, Director) and Single of the Year (What He’s In To) in addition to being named the SCMA Female Artist of the Year.

Hosted by 2017 JUNO Award winner and platinum-selling country artist Jess Moskaluke, the televised awards show honours the finest talent in Saskatchewan country music, handing out 26 awards for artist and musician achievements as well as to industry leaders in recording and radio.

Male Artist of the Year went to Chris Henderson while Amy Nelson’s fans were loud and proud, naming her the Fan’s Choice Entertainer of the Year. Newcomer Justin LaBrash was awarded Emerging Artist of the Year, with Saskatoon’s Aces Wyld claiming Group of the Year.

Lisa Moen was presented the Country Music Person of the Year award in recognition of her dedication and commitment to the SCMA over the last year.

The Legends and Legacy award was presented to Prince Albert’s John Quinn, a true legend of the Saskatchewan Country Music Association.

Jess Moskaluke was presented the SCMA Lifetime Achievement award as testament to her rise to Canadian country music fame.

In addition to presenting awards, the association took a moment to pay a touching tribute to the late Mandy Ringdal, a member of the association who lost her battle with ovarian cancer in September. Amy Nelson and Tenille Arts, close friends of Ringdal’s, performed Mandy's song, “Find The Good,” following a moment of silence in her honour. The show closed with a hopeful tribute to the 16 players and coaches of the Humboldt Broncos who lost their lives in a tragic crash earlier this month, with Alex Runions performing Tom Cochrane’s "Big League" while joined by SCMA artists wearing hockey jerseys.

The Saskatchewan Country Music Association is a non-profit organization, dedicated to the promotion, development, and enhancement of all aspects of Saskatchewan country music at the local, national, and international level.

2018 SCMA Award Winners
Fan’s Choice Entertainer of the Year: Amy Nelson

Female Artist of the Year: Tenille Arts

Male Artist of the Year: Chris Henderson

Group of the Year: Aces Wyld

Songwriter of the Year: Tenille Arts, Adam Wheeler & Mark Narmore For “Rain Drops, Dirt Roads”

Album or EP of the Year: Tenille Arts, “Rebel Child”

Video of the Year: Tenille Arts, “Cold Feet”, Patrick Tohill, Director

Single of the Year: “What He’s Into”, Tenille Arts

Emerging Artist of the Year: Justin Labrash

Interactive Artist or Group of the Year: Codie Prevost

Roots Artist or Group of the Year: JJ Voss

Country Music Person of the Year: Lisa Moen

SCMA Award of Achievement: Jess Moskaluke

Legends & Legacy Award: John Quinn

Nightclub of the Year: Eldorado Country Rock Bar

SIGA $1500 Bursary: LJ Tyson

Youth $200 Bursary: Jordyn Pollard

Bass Player of the Year: Curt Chobot

Drummer of the Year: Jayson Brinkworth

Keyboard Player of the Year: Jordan Toppings

Fiddle Player of the Year: Kristan Couture

Guitar Player of the Year: Jordan Toppings

Specialty Instrument Player of the Year: Dave Bushko

Radio Station of the Year - Major Market: 92.9 The Bull, Saskatoon

Radio Station of the Year - Secondary Market: CJVR Melfort

On-Air Personality of the Year - Major Market: Cristy Beggs

On-Air Personality of the Year - Secondary Market: Matt Ryan

Music Director of the Year - Major Market: Cristy Beggs

Music Director of the Year - Secondary Market: Cal Gratton

Record Producer of the Year: Bart McKay

Recording Studio of the Year: Bart McKay Studios

TV or Radio Show of the Year: Timberline Music Show, Larry Krause & Lisa Risom