Kenny Shields Special Recognition Award Winner: Shelly Loeffler

Kenny Shields Special Recognition Award Winner: Shelly Loeffler

Inaugural Award for Contributions to the Professional Arts in the Province

by SaskMusic

October 10, 2017 in Industry News

The Saskatoon Musicians’ Association presented the inaugural Kenny Shields Special Recognition Award for contributions to the professional arts to Shelly Loeffler in October 2017 as part of the association’s annual Gala Showcase event held at the Bassment Jazz club in Saskatoon.

Ms. Loeffler has been active with both the Saskatoon Symphony and Saskatoon Jazz Society, and hosted Saturday Night Jazz on, and the Swing Shift on CFCR.

On hand for the presentation was Jeff Neill, Streetheart lead guitarist, who said a few words about his bandmate and the Association’s naming the award in Shields’ honour. Kenny Shields joined the Saskatoon Musicians’ Association in 1971 and remained an active member until 2009. Through his nearly five decade career, Kenny Shields and Streetheart compiled a truly impressive list of accomplishments:

  • 4 platinum albums
  • 6 gold albums
  • 2 Ampex Golden reel awards
  • 1 Juno Award
  • 1 Music Express People’s Choice award
  • 2003 Western Canada Music Association Hall of Fame inductees

The Saskatoon Musicians’ Association was chartered on October 31, 1910 as Local 553 of the American Federation of Musicians. Along the way, Local 553 has been home to The Northern Pikes, Wide Mouth Mason, Brian Plummer, jazz music guitar icon Gordie Brandt, and mainstay folk artists Humphrey and the Dumptrucks and Don Freed. Their current membership ranges from the Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra to The Sheepdogs, and just about every recording artist between. For further information please contact Warren Rutherford, Secretary/Treasurer, Saskatoon Musicians’ Association, at 306-477-2506 or email.