BreakOut West Announces 2016 Western Canadian Music and Industry Award Nominees

BreakOut West Announces 2016 Western Canadian Music and Industry Award Nominees

by SaskMusic

May 6, 2016 in Industry News

Leading the diverse group of artists and industry represented are Aidan Knight, and the duo of Nadia Gaudet & Jason Burnstick, with three nominations each in this year's newly revised category list. Knight's recent music video also gets a nod in the Video Director category. Brett Kissel, Corb Lund, David Morin, George Canyon, Le Destin du Jazz-Club!, Library Voices, We Are The City, William Prince and Yukon Blonde have also drawn solid recognition with two nominations each in the artistic categories, with Kissel's recording also nominated for an Industry Award in Audio Engineering. In the industry categories, producer Russell Broom, and venue The West End Cultural Centre make double appearances. This year's nominee list also shows major growth for the western Canadian music industry, as many names are appearing for the first time in 2016, showing the vibrancy of these rising talents.

We congratulate the Saskatchewan nominees in particular:

Classical Composition of the Year
Along the King's Road - Jason Cullimore (Regina)

Country Artist of the Year
Jess Moskaluke (Langenburg)

Metal/Hard Music Artist of the Year
Shooting Guns (Saskatoon)
Third Ion (Regina)

Recording of the Year
Library Voices - Lovish (Regina)

Rock Artist of the Year
The Sheepdogs (Saskatoon)

Roots Duo/Group of the Year
Rosie & The Riveters (Saskatoon)

Producer of the Year
Brad Prosko / Brad Prosko Production (Poor Nameless Boy "Bravery," Chris Henderson "Craves the Chaos," Government Town "GTIII" (Regina/Strasbourg)
Library Voices - Library Voices "Lovish" (Regina)

Songwriter(s) of the Year
Kacy Anderson and Clayton Linthicum - "Brunswick Stew" from Kacy & Clayton “Strange Country” (Fir Mountain/Glenworth)
Megan Nash - "Deer Head" from Megan Nash “Song Harvest: Volume One” (Palmer)

Spiritual Artist of the Year
Samanvaya Kirtan (Saskatoon)
Yvonne St. Germaine (Saskatoon)

Visual Media Composer of the Year
Factor Eight (Saskatoon)

Audio Engineering Award
Bart McKay (Brett Kissel "Airwaves") (Saskatoon)

Community Excellence Award
Creative City Centre Inc. (Regina)
The Broadway Theatre (Saskatoon)

Excellence in Visual Design
Jared Robinson, Nebulus Entertainment (Pimpton, Scott Benson Band, LunarTheory, Sharon Gudereit, Samatha Pichard, Katie Miller, Acadence, Alexandra Barabe, Unkle Adams, Above the Crown, Awaken Aries, Highwind) (Moose Jaw)
Ultimate Power Duo, Casper Konefal, Jordyn Bochon, Tyler Jenkins, Scott Kowalchuk, Elaine Will, Owen Gieni, Tom Bagley, Riley Rossmo, Nathan Wahl, Donny Sparrow, Cate Francis, Ken Davis (Ultimate Power Duo) (Saskatoon)

Impact in Live Music, presented by Music Canada Live
Rawk Entertainment Group (SK)

Impact in Music Marketing
Jacqueline Conway - Saskatchewan Jazz Festival (Saskatoon)
Susan Busse (Saskatoon)
Taron Cochrane Entertainment (Regina)

2016 Heritage Award: John Arcand (Saskatoon)
John Arcand is a Saskatchewan-born musician who has performed, taught, promoted and preserved the traditions of Métis fiddle and dance. His unique sound, which builds on a long family tradition of fiddle and dance, is considered essential to the identity and recognition of Métis culture. During his career spanning more than 60 years, he created over 370 tunes and produced 16 recordings. In 1998, he founded the John Arcand Fiddle Fest - a major annual fiddle event in Western Canada. Arcand has received numerous awards for his work, including the Order of Canada, a National Aboriginal Achievement Award, and the Saskatchewan Arts Board Lifetime Achievement Award. John is also active as judge at fiddle contests, instructor at fiddle camps, and has a growing list of private students. He and his wife travel extensively each year promoting the Métis culture through workshops and performances in schools and communities across the country. John is an avid collector of fiddles, and a qualified Luthier whose original instruments are much sought after. He also offers repairs and can provide appraisals.

2016 Kevin Walters Industry Builder Award: Derek Bachman (posthumously)
Derek Bachman was an extremely involved and dedicated member of the Canadian music industry for nearly 20 years, and worked on several of the largest events in Saskatchewan, for Live Nation Canada and Union Events among others. He served as a director on numerous boards, and was instrumental in the success and development of SaskMusic, the Western Canadian Music Awards, Credit Union Centre in Saskatoon, the 2007 JUNO Awards and the 2012 Canadian Country Music Week Host Committee. Derek was also a partner in Rawk Entertainment Inc., with his production credits on local, national and international events including JunoFest 2007/2013, Western Canadian Music Awards Festival 2007/2012, and 2013 Canadian Country Music Week. Derek was also responsible for export and professional development for Saskatchewan musicians and industry members, both nationally and internationally. Tragically Derek's life was cut short, but the foundation he built in his home province of Saskatchewan and throughout Canada thrives, building on the foundation he set in place.

Also congrats to Video Director of the Year nominee David Tenniswood of Scopitone Films (BC) for Jess Moskaluke’s "Kiss Me Quiet" !


For a full list of categories and all 2016 nominees, visit 

Changing things up from the norm, the 14th annual Western Canadian Music Awards Show will be hosted on Thursday, October 13 at Casino Regina, kicking off BreakOut West 2016 in a new format with a concert-style show, focused more on music than speeches. Venue sponsors SaskGaming / Casino Regina help usher in this updated event, while out-of-town attendees will be welcomed by the Double Tree by Hilton, the official host hotel. SaskMusic, Creative Saskatchewan, Tourism Saskatchewan, City of Regina, Tourism Regina, and the Regina Hotel Association have all taken part in bringing the annual festival, conference and Western Canadian Music Awards back to Saskatchewan's capital, which last hosted the event in 2012. The first Western Canadian Music Awards was also hosted in Regina in 2003.

 "We're pleased to play a role in bringing the fun and excitement of BreakOut West to Regina as the venue sponsor of the 2016 Western Canadian Music Awards," Minister Responsible for SaskGaming Nancy Heppner says. "We're looking forward to hosting the industry and artists in our world-class Show Lounge in October. I offer my congratulations to all the nominees and wish them good luck!"
Music industry association member voting closed May 17. Members of the 6 partner music industry associations (Manitoba Music, SaskMusic, Alberta Music, MusicBC, MusicYukon, and MusicNWT) were able to vote for their favorite nominee in each category. Winners are determined through a combination of member votes and a juried process.