Saskatchewan in the 2014 Canadian Folk Music Awards

by SaskMusic

November 30, 2014 in SaskMusic News

SaskMusic is delighted to celebrate the following nominations and awards for Saskatchewan artists in the 2014 Canadian Folk Music Awards:

Kacy & Clayton

  • New/Emerging Artist of the Year for “The Day Is Past & Gone”
  • Young Performer of the Year (WON)

Keiffer Mclean

  • Young Performer of the Year for “Drama in the Attic”

We also acknowledge The Fretless on their award and three additional nominations; Saskatoon’s Karrnnel is a member of the quartet.

  • Ensemble of the Year (WON)
  • Producer of the Year - The Fretless with Joby Baker for “The Fretless”
  • Pushing the Boundaries for “The Fretless”  
  • Instrumental Group of the Year 


About The Canadian Folk Music Awards:

The Mission of the Canadian Folk Music Awards is to celebrate and promote Canadian folk music in all its forms. Until their creation in 2005, there existed no awards to celebrate the breadth and depth of folk music in Canada. Awards such as the JUNOs, East Coast Music Awards or the Western Canada Music Awards have a few categories that apply to folk and roots music but they offer only a restricted view of the genre. In 2014, 68 artists and groups were announced as nominees in 19 categories who hail from 9 provinces and 1 territory in Canada. The 10th Anniversary edition of the CFMAs was celebrated in Ottawa ON, November 27-29. The bilingual gala awards presentation took place on November 27 at the Bronson Centre in Ottawa. The gala event on November 29 was hosted by the CBC’s Shelagh Rogers and musician Benoit Bourque (La Bottine Souriante). For more information on the 2014 Canadian Folk Music Awards, visit