Congratulations to 2014 SCMA Winners

by SaskMusic

April 14, 2014 in SaskMusic News

The Saskatchewan Country Music Association Awards & Country Music Festival celebrated its 25th anniversary in Nipawin SK this past weekend. Top country musicians as well as new and emerging acts from around the province gathered among industry professionals and fans April 11-13 to celebrate the Saskatchewan country music scene. Multi-CCMA award winning band Doc Walker headlined the cabaret on Saturday night, joined by WYATT. The weekend encompassed various other events, including a kick-off party, the SCMA AGM, songwriter’s circle, country gospel show and new artist showcases.

SaskMusic is pleased to congratulate the winners at this year’s Saskatchewan Country Music Awards. The SCMA President’s Gala Banquet & Industry Awards were held Sunday April 12, and the 25th Annual SCMA Gala Awards took place Sunday April 13, both from the Evergreen Convention Centre in Nipawin.

Many of this year’s award recipients are previous winners of The Next Big Thing country talent search (presented by Big Dog 92-7 and produced by SaskMusic), including WYATT, Chris Henderson, Jess Moskaluke and The Midnight Roses. Submissions for the 2014 Next Big Thing competition recently launched, and will remain open until May 2, 2014.

And the winners are:

Fan’s Choice Entertainer of the Year: Codie Prevost
Female Vocalist of the Year: Jess Moskaluke
Male Vocalist of the Year: Codie Prevost
Group of the Year: WYATT
Rising Star Award: The Midnight Roses
Song of the Year (Composer): “Don’t Miss Your Kiss Goodbye”, Chris Henderson, Troy Kokol, Willie Mack
Single of the Year: “Good Lovin”, Jess Moskaluke
Video of the Year: “Jesse James”, WYATT
Album of the Year: “Shoulda Been Here Last Night”, WYATT
Country Gospel Album of the Year: “Not Unto Us”, The Trudel Family
Aboriginal Artist of the Year: Yvonne St. Germaine
Roots Artist/Group of the Year: Eli Barsi
Roots Album of the Year: “Portrait Of A Cowgirl”, Eli Barsi

Industry Awards:

All Star Band (Guitar): Rich McFarlane
All Star Band (Bass): Al Leblanc
All Star Band (Drums): Hal Schrenk
All Star Band (Keys): Bart McKay
All Start Band (Fiddle): Donny Parenteau
All Star Band (Specialty): Rich McFarlane
Record Producer: Bart McKay
Recording Studio: Mosaic Music
Manager: (Tie) Tera Maguire and Al Leblanc
Country Music Person of the Year: Stephen Maguire
On Air Personality – Major Market: Don Mitchell, CKBI Prince Albert
On Air Personality – Secondary Market: Danny Ismond, GX94 Yorkton
Music Director – Major Market: Jason Lee, CJWW Saskatoon
Music Director – Secondary Market: Danny Ismond, GX94 Yorkton
Fan’s Choice Radio Station – Major Market: CJWW Saskatoon
Fan’s Choice Radio Station – Secondary Market: GX94 Yorkton
TV or Radio Show of the Year: The Timberline Music Show, Larry Krause (Shaw)
Youth Development Bursary: Lane Shields, and The Hart Boys
Humanitarian Award: Stephen Maguire
Achievement Award: Codie Prevost
Legends & Legacy Award: Dave Baker