by SaskMusic

August 20, 2013 in SaskMusic News

At the 2013 APCMAs, outstanding musical talent was recognized in a celebration of Aboriginal music, arts, culture and heritage showcasing the talents, gifts and abilities of Aboriginal artists from all nations. The impact of the Festival reaches beyond and communicates the importance of Aboriginal culture. The eighth annual awards gala was broadcast on the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network on Sunday, August 18 from the MTS Centre in Winnipeg MB. Awards were also handed out at the invite-only Ohshkii Awards Night held at the Winnipeg Art Gallery on August 17. The APCMAs took place during the annual Manito Ahbee Festival, which moved from November to its new summer dates August 16-21, 2013 in Winnipeg, celebrating music, arts and culture in the heart of Turtle Island. 

SaskMusic is pleased to congratulate our 2013 Saskatchewan winners. George Leach, nominated for four awards, won in three categories. Yvonne St. Germaine won the category in which she was nominated; she has been nominated for APCMAs every year since 2007.

2013 APCMA Saskatchewan Winners:
Best Gospel CD - Yvonne St. Germaine (“City of Gold”)
Best Rock CD - George Leach (“Surrender”)
Single of the Year - George Leach (“Carry Me”)
Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year - George Leach (“Surrender”)