June 25, 2020

SaskMusic's Latest


Pride Radio Shows

SK Pride Radio 2020

SaskMusic is proud to present our PRIDE 2020 radio show featuring a number of great Sask artists who are part of the LGBTQ+ community. Hosted by singer/songwriter Wanda Gronhovd with a variety of musical styles represented. Thank you to 91.3FM CJTR Regina Community Radio and 90.5 CFCR Saskatoon Community Radio for broadcasting the show during PRIDE month. Catch the show:

  • Thurs, June 25 4-5pm on 91.3 FM CJTR - Regina Community Radio, and
  • Sun, June 28 930-1030pm on CFCR 90.5 FM - Saskatoon Community Radio (Rainbow Radio)

More info


AGM Sunday

REMINDER: SaskMusic AGM and Round Table discussion Sunday

Our Annual General Meeting is coming up on Sunday, June 28 at 11am. This will be an online meeting. Following the AGM proper, we'll be moving into a roundtable discussion about the impacts of COVID-19 on the music industry.

To register, please use this link: AGM Registration

Voting members: You can make your selections in the Board of Directors elections until Friday, 5pm. If you haven't received your voting access email, please contact us ASAP. Hope to 'see' you Sunday!



ICYMI: Our National Indigenous Peoples Day Concert, broadcast on June 20, is available to watch and share. Featuring 23 artists from the Saskatchewan area!

On YouTube, https://youtu.be/8g995Nc0Xao 
or on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=733990407406821



Congrats to all the Saskatchewan WCMA nominees!

The 2020 Western Canadian Music Award nominees have been announced! Winners in both artistic and industry categories will be revealed via livestream on September 25. Voting is now open to members of all the western music industry associations, including SaskMusic voting members, who will receive voting information beginning today. Voting will conclude at midnight PT on July 6.

Congratulations to the Sask nominees in particular! The full list can be found HERE

Country Artist of the Year: Hunter Brothers, and Jess Moskaluke
Electronic & Dance Artist of the Year: Rumpus
Francophone Artist of the Year: Ponteix
Jazz Artist of the Year: Regina Jazz Society
Rock Artist of the Year: The Radiant
Roots Artist of the Year: Kacy & Clayton
Songwriter(s) of the Year: Kacy Anderson & Clayton Linthicum
Spiritual Artist of the Year: Jay Semko
Video Director of the Year: Dustin Wilson, Zach Wilson Two Brothers Films for The Dead South, “Diamond Ring”
Visual Media Composer of the Year: Wolf Willow, Etthén Heldeli: “Caribou Eaters”
Excellence in Visual Design: Logan Tanner & Ron Baldoza, Trifecta Sound Co.
Impact in Artist Development: Regina Jazz Society
Impact in Music Marketing: Susan Busse PR


Juno Awards

Watch the Juno Awards, Live Online Monday, June 29

Following the cancellation of the 49th annual JUNO Awards in Saskatoon due to COVID-19, winners will now be announced across all 42 categories during a virtual event Monday, June 29 at 7 p.m. ET

We'll be cheering on The JUNO Awards 2020 Saskatchewan nominees!

Breakthrough Group of the Year: Hunter Brothers
Country Album of the Year: Hunter Brothers, State of Mind
Alternative Album of the Year: Foxwarren, Foxwarren
Traditional Roots Album of the Year: The Dead South, Sugar & Joy
Album Artwork of the Year: Terri Fidelak (art director, designer and illustrator) and Carey Shaw (photographer) for Belle PlaineMalice, Mercy, Grief and Wrath

More info




New workshops and webinars are being added at www.saskmusic.org/workshops!


SaskMusic's Latest


Juno masterclass

Upcoming deadline, July 13

The deadline to submit for the sixth annual Allan Slaight JUNO MasterClass has been extended to July 13! Submit your application for Canada’s leading artist development program, including mentoring from music industry leaders.

Selected artists will attend JUNO Week 2021 and the 50th annual JUNO Awards in Toronto, ON, where one of the artists will be chosen to perform at The JUNO Gala Dinner and Awards.

Submit here: http://junomasterclass.ca


RWG promo

The monthly Songwriters groups are currently meeting online via Zoom. Please check out their Facebook groups for more information about the next meeting.

Saskatoon group info: https://www.facebook.com/saskatoonsongwriters/

Regina group info: https://www.facebook.com/groups/258208420940008/


Career Tracks

Featured Career Tracks Mentor: Arun Chaturvedi

Arun Chaturvedi is a Toronto based Producer, Songwriter, and Multi-Instrumentalist. He has worked with a diverse roster of artists including Lamont Dozier, Felix Cavaliere, Luke McMaster and Jim Brickman and for record labels such as Sony, Universal, Green Hill, Killer Tracks and many more.

In addition to winning Western Canadian Music Awards for Producer of The Year, Best R&B Recording, and Best Aboriginal Recording, Arun has multiple Juno nominations as producer for artists Little Hawk and Desiree Dorion. The classically trained pianist is also an in-demand composer for Film and Television whose credits include hit TV shows like Keeping Up With The Kardashians, General Hospital, PJ Masks, Pretty Little Liars, and many more.

Arun currently serves as Treasurer of the Songwriter’s Association of Canada, and is a director of The SOCAN Foundation. He joins the Career Tracks program to provide advice on music production, songwriting, composing for film and TV, and record labels.

Career Tracks offers confidential, one-on-one assistance to artists and music professionals. SaskMusic members can meet with our team to discuss career plans, marketing strategies, touring, songwriting and copyright, funding and grant applications, demo critiques/reviews, industry trends, or other relevant music topics.

To book a consult with Arun or to read more about our mentors, click HERE


SaskMusic's Latest


Phone: 306-347-0676. Toll-Free in Sask: 1-800-347-0676.
Email: info@saskmusic.org
Copyright SaskMusic 2014. All rights reserved.