Best Sask Albums

The Best Saskatchewan Albums of 2018

The Best Saskatchewan Album of the Year project is in its fourth annual iteration. It will become an associated category of the Saskatchewan Music Awards in 2018. This category is based on an album, as a whole, released during the eligible time period. SaskMusic researches and collects eligible album releases for this time period to the best of our ability, however, artists/labels are encouraged to submit to ensure that no eligible releases are overlooked.

1) Initial qualifying round. A list of eligible releases will be compiled (please see below to see who we have on our list so far!). To help ensure we don’t miss an eligible album, please check the criteria below and make sure your qualifying album* is included on our preliminary list. Help us make sure we don’t miss anyone!! Submissions are encouraged through the SMA nomination process (Deadline 5pm October 19, 2018):

*Album Criteria. To be considered for Best Of, the album

  • Was first released to the public between November 1, 2017 and November 1, 2018. The first verification we will use will be its date of release in iTunes. If not on iTunes, we'll accept other forms of verification of both "release date" and "commercial release" at our discretion (ie manufacturer's shipping date). Please contact SaskMusic if your release date is between October 19-November 1 to arrange provision of pre-release materials for the jury.
  • Is at least 30 minutes or at least 5 tracks in length.
  • Was released by an artist residing in Sask. (physically living in Saskatchewan at the time of the album's release date regardless of where artist is living at the time this list is underway). If needed, we would verify residency by province of your 2018 tax filing.
  • Albums that made a Best Saskatchewan Albums Top Ten previously will not be in consideration this year, even if reissued. Otherwise, official reissues/compilations of previous material (where released as a new package) will be considered.

All genres of music are included in consideration. Artists do not need to be members of SaskMusic to participate. There is no "entry fee."

2) A jury of industry professionals and peers will listen to the qualifying albums to help us determine the longlist of approximately 40 albums. The longlist will be announced at the Saskatchewan Music Awards, November 25.

3) The longlist will be open for general public voting, exclusively online, from November 26-December 10. These votes alone will determine the Top 10. Only one vote per IP address will be recorded.

4) The Top 10, aka shortlist will be announced between the dates of December 12-21 (TBD). Please note, ties would result in more than 10 albums appearing on the shortlist.

This project is for the promotion and celebration of Saskatchewan music. We apologize for any oversights, errors or omissions.


2018 Saskatchewan Album Releases November 1, 2017-November 1, 2018

Aces Wyld - Small Town Style
Anna Klein - These Days
Annette Campagne - I Am
Arron Rigden - self titled
Autopilot - Afterglow (upcoming)
Bears In Hazenmore - Atlas
Caves - Young Adult Contemporary
Conrad Bigknife - A Tribute to Country Legends
Danny Downing - When the Lights Go Down
Del Suelo - The Musician's Compass: A 12 Step Program
Dylan Cooper - self titled
Eli Barsi & Doris Daley - One Upon the West
Etienne Fletcher: Side A / Face A
G.B. Loon - The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Solo EP
Ginelle James - Last Call
Heidi Munro and the RealGroovyBand - self titled
Hook & Nail - Ghosts of Taylorton
HYV - Times Are Tough
Jaecy Bells - self titled
Jay Semko - Never Sent
Jeff Mertick Band (the) - Outrun The Sunrise
Jeff Mertick Band (the) - Talking Drum
Jesse Brown - Sadness
Jesse Brown - Still
Jesse Weiman - Helen of Troy
Jodie Hergott - Christmas Heart
Justin LaBrash - Friends or Lovers
Ki The Tree - Cat Mask
Low Joy Ceiling (the) - Homemade Fireworks Deluxe
Marentin Fehr - Tonights Performer
Marie-Véronique Bourque - une porte s'ouvre
Nick Faye & The Deputies - Stumbling Distance
Picture Radio - self titled
Pxrtals (The) - Un Jour
Quinlin - Mostrous Dreams
Ride Til Dawn - Dawn
Rosie & The Riveters - Ms. Behave
Rugged Little Thing - Fare Thee Well
Ryan Hicks - Pulsing Colours
Steig - self titled
Strange Valentines (The) - Society of Good Intentions
Taylor Jade - Dreamy is the Night
Terraplane - The Cabin Tapes
Thomas Chevlier - Contes des Coeurs Perdus
West of Mabou - The Bridge
Wolf Willow - Caribou Howl
3 Ninjasks - z o a m s 
Abscission - Palimpsest
Alex Bent + the Emptiness - Vanilla Blue
Altars of Grief - Iris
Angus Vincent - Angel
Anna Haverstock - Coasting In Dreams
Augurium - Unhallowed Ascendance
Avulsions (The) - Expanding Program
Beach Body - Curb Ciggiez EP
Beach Body - Plain Life
Black Hell Oil - Choke on This
Blue Youth - Dead Forever
Chasing Illusions - Eyes EP
Chronobot - Chronic Titan
Constant Reminder - CR Passion, Vol. 8
Dagan Harding Band - I Learned How
Dale Mac - American Horse EP
Duchess of Dub - Expectations 2
Economics - TKO
Ed Plank - The Bodega Tape Vol. 1
Enjay - self titled
Factor Chandelier - Wisdom Teeth
Faps (The) - Grimelda
General Spanky - 50 Shades of Spanky
Ghost Note - Toronto(24)
Grey Records - Grey Matter Compilation
Grovner - A Place in Your Home EP
Guidewire - BERF 1
Hot Lettuce - self-titled EP
Jack Semple - Can't Stop This Love
Joey Stylez - The Star Chief
League of One (The) - Dispatch
LOA - Tide EP
Me The Guts - Lost Faith In Our Guts
Memory of a Night - Falling Star
minivandal - Turn Left Here
Pimpton - The Pimpton LP
Piper Burns - Tragic Songs of Shed & Skull
Port Noise - Finally. (a Disco Moose
Ritual Rabbits - Somehow Never Again
Sheepdogs (The) - Changing Colours
Shirley & The Pyramids - Pure Pain
Shooting Guns - Another WolfCop OST
Skip Jr. Campbell - Banana Medicine
Skizza & Loud Voice - SpiriTrill
Sunny Day Encore - Rememberable
Thomas Chevlier - Now and Then
Tiger Charmer - self titled
Toria Summerfield - Planet X
Trash Hawks - Piña Piñata Colada
UMXY - Four Seasons
Unfazed - Tchotchke
VBND - Daughter of the Sun
Wolfe (The) - Strange Words