Western Canadian  Music Award Nominees: Voting Open

Western Canadian Music Award Nominees: Voting Open

by SaskMusic

May 14, 2024 in Industry News

Today, the Western Canadian Music Alliance announced the 2024 Western Canadian Music Award nominees. The winners of the awards in both the Artistic and Industry categories will be unveiled during BreakOut West in Saskatoon, September 25-29. 

Voting is now open to members of the western music industry associations (including SaskMusic members). Members will receive an email with voting instructions and will be able to vote until 11:59pm PT May 26. (Join by May 17 in order to get in on voting eligibility!)

Now in its 22nd year, BreakOut West continues to develop, support and honour the best of western Canadian music, with its annual conference, festival and the Western Canadian Music Awards.  
BreakOut West 2024 begins on September 25 with the start of its five-day career development conference and international industry program. Offering immersive content, international market deep dives, one-on-one mentor meetings, workshops and more, the conference is a landmark event for both artists and industry alike, looking to gain insight into the ever-changing musical landscape, and make invaluable connections. Featuring the best in emerging talent from across western Canada, as well as select international and Pan-Canadian acts, the 2024 music festival will highlight 50+ artists performing at multiple venues across the host city. Festival wristbands will be announced soon.

Congratulations to the nominees from Saskatchewan:

Francophone Artist of the Year (Sponsored by APCM - Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique) -
Alexis Normand
Beau Nectar 

Global Artist of the Year: Rooky Kamiz 

Instrumental Artist of the Year: West of Mabou 

Roots Artist of the Year:
Jake Vaadeland
The Dead South

Video Director of the Year (Sponsored by Manitoba Film & Music): Amy Mantyka - Beau Nectar "Two Lips"

Community Excellence Award: Community Arts Mentorship Program (CAMP)

As well as a shoutout to Electronic & Dance Artist of the Year - RUMPUS (recently of SK)

See the full list of nominees here.