SMA logo

The 2023 Saskatchewan Music Award Winners

(Saskatoon) For Immediate Release December 2, 2023

The sixth annual Saskatchewan Music Awards were held tonight, celebrating the Saskatchewan music industry in a packed show at the iconic Broadway Theatre in Saskatoon. Awards in twenty-one categories were handed out, accompanied by performances from current and former SMA nominees Adéola, Eliza Mary Doyle, Greenwing, Grimelda, Patrick Moon Bird, Thinktank, and youth performers Halle Ponton and Rebecca Strong. Halle and Rebecca were selected after a call was put out for youth performers, as a way of encouraging our talented emerging artists.

The show was opened by a special performance of the Treaty 6 Flag Song by Aaron Tootoosis, and a blessing given by Joseph Naytowhow and Cheryl L’Hirondelle. A highlight of the evening was the tribute to our Indigenous Music Achievement Award honouree, Edmund Bull, led by Ted Whitecalf, with Bull himself performing a song.

Double winners of the evening were Jess Moskaluke, for Country Artist of the Year and Single of the Year (“Heartbreaker”), music collective Trifecta Sound Co. in Industry Achievement and Music Company or Organization of the Year, and Katie Tupper, who picked up R&B Artist of the Year, as well as Music Video of the Year as part of the creative team for her video, “She Said.”.

Album of the Year was selected through a combination of public voting and an industry jury, and went to Jake and the Kid for their “Baby Bro” EP.

The awards program was recorded for later broadcast on Rogers TV / Shaw Spotlight community TV channels across Saskatchewan, and online viewing.

A leader amongst music makers in the province, Edmund Bull of Little Pine First Nation is known far and wide as the head singer and drumkeeper for the award-winning Red Bull Singers, as well as being an accomplished solo artist in the country genre. Under his leadership, Red Bull achieved acclaim as one of the top pow-wow groups in North America, thrilling dancers and audiences around the globe for over 25 years, while releasing more than a dozen albums. Accompanied by the Red Bull Singers, Edmund has performed throughout Canada, the United States and Europe. As he developed his skills as a musician in both traditional and contemporary music, Edmund created a unique style and sound, singing and writing music that has inspired and uplifted listeners. Edmund has been named Best Male Artist, and Red Bull received the award for Pow Wow Recording, from the Native American Music Awards (including Red Bull performing at the inaugural NAMA event in 1998); as well, the Red Bull Singers were nominated for JUNO Awards for “Best Music of Aboriginal Canada Recording” in 1996 and 2000. Edmund continues to perform, including recently sharing a song at the Elders National Conference in Edmonton.

An After Party celebration was held following the awards show at Amigos Cantina, with music by Theo Noble, Dump Babes, and DJ Rain.

SaskMusic expresses our sincere congratulations to all the nominees and winners, and is honoured to be working with and representing such a talented field of creators and behind-the-scenes industry members.

SaskMusic thanks everyone who attended these events and encourages everyone to continue to support the music scene by attending live music events, and streaming, purchasing and sharing the music of our local Saskatchewan artists.

We would like to thank Creative Saskatchewan, the Government of Saskatchewan, and FACTOR (The Foundation Assisting Canadian Talent on Recordings) for their support of the SMAs and SaskMusic.

The 2023 Saskatchewan Music Award Winners

Winner graphics downloadable here

Afrobeats Artist of the Year: Rooky (Saskatoon)

Album of the Year: Jake and the Kid, “Baby Bro” (Regina)

Contemporary Indigenous Artist of the Year: Falynn Baptiste (Saskatoon)

Country Artist of the Year: Jess Moskaluke (Langenburg/Rocanville)

Electronic Artist of the Year: FOOTWURK (Regina)

Hip Hop Artist of the Year: Skizza and AK Productions (Saskatoon / White City)

Indigenous Music Achievement Award: Edmund Bull (Little Pine First Nation)

Industry Achievement: Trifecta Sound Co. (Regina)

Inspirational or Spiritual Artist of the Year (TIE): Deeper Life (Strasbourg)   and    Elenee (Lloydminster)

Instrumental or Ambient Artist of the Year: Factor Eight (Saskatoon)

Metal or Hard Rock Artist of the Year: Flash Back (Regina)

Music Company or Organization of the Year: Trifecta Sound Co. (Regina)

Music Professional of the Year: Micheal Lander (Saskatoon)

Music Video of the Year (TIE): “She Said” by Katie Tupper: Ryley Konechny (co-director), Molly Schikosky (co-director, producer), Katie Tupper (producer) (Saskatoon); and

“Tous les matins” by Alexis Normand: Lindsay Arnold, director, animator and editor (North Portal)

Pop Artist of the Year: Marissa Burwell (Regina)

Producer of the Year: Bart McKay (Saskatoon)

R&B Artist of the Year: Katie Tupper (Saskatoon)

Rock Artist of the Year (TIE): GreenWing (Saskatoon)   and    The Steadies (Saskatoon)

Roots or Folk Artist of the Year: Jake Vaadeland (Cut Knife)

Single of the Year: "Heartbreaker,” Jess Moskaluke (Langenburg/Rocanville)

Venue or Festival of the Year: SaskTel Saskatchewan Jazz Festival (Saskatoon)

The Saskatchewan Music Awards are proudly presented by SaskMusic. For more information please visit, email, or call 1-800-347-0676.


SaskMusic is a non-profit, member-based association that represents, promotes and develops the artists and commercial music industry of Saskatchewan, Canada both domestically and internationally. We offer one-on-one guidance, workshops, marketing and export assistance, career development opportunities, a music directory, and more. From songwriters and freelance musicians to studios, we work with artists and industry members from across our province, in an extensive range of genres and skill levels. SaskMusic is a source of information and resources for both the public, and the music industry. Our website is; you can follow us for local music and industry news on Instagram, Facebook, YouTube and Threads.


Phone: 306-347-0676. Toll-Free in Sask: 1-800-347-0676.
Copyright SaskMusic 2014. All rights reserved.