The Next Big Thing 2014

Update June 27: 


The Finals show of Big Dog 92-7/Bell Media'€™s "€œThe Next Big Thing"€ country talent competition was held last night at Eldorado Country Rock Bar in Regina, with Amy Nelson (Regina), Blake Berglund (Kennedy), and Tenille Arts(Weyburn) each performing in the hopes of convincing an esteemed panel of judges that they should be selected as this year'€™s winner. Following impressive performances by the three artists, Amy Nelson was declared the winner.

Press release

Please click at right to view:

Top 10 Semi-Finalists 2014

Top 3 Finalists 2014

The Next Big Thing ad


Big Dog 92-7 Contest Returns for a Sixth Year with Grand Prize of $15,000+

Big Dog 92-7 is looking for country music artists who believe they could be The Next Big Thing to come from Saskatchewan. The winner of The Next Big Thing 2014 will be awarded cash, mentorship and career-building options, with a prize package valued at over $15,000!

Artists from solo to full bands in country and related genres (such as bluegrass and roots) are invited to submit an entry. A panel of music industry professionals will select the Top 10, who will be unveiled to the public at the beginning of June. From there, the Top 3 Finalists will be selected, and will perform in a live showdown on June 26 to determine who will be chosen as The Next Big Thing. 

“We have amazingly talented country artists in this province, and we are looking forward to hearing from both established and emerging artists once again for this year’s competition. We are thrilled that our previous winners are enjoying continued momentum in their careers,” states project producer Lorena Kelly of SaskMusic. In addition to the useful $15,000 prize, the Next Big Thing will have additional opportunities – with recent years’ winners also receiving performances at Canadian Country Music Week, Queen City Ex, and Craven Country Jamboree mainstage. “It’s a great promotional tool, and a boost to an artist’s overall career,” Kelly continues. Previous Next Big Thing winners are Saskatoon’s WYATT (2009), Regina’s Chris Henderson (2010), Langenburg’s Jess Moskaluke (2011), Swift Current’s Myshel Pajuaar and The Midnight Roses (2012), and Regina’s Alex Runions (2013).

To make an entry, artists will provide two original songs in audio or video format, a photo, biography and other information to be evaluated by a panel of music industry professionals. See contest Rules and Regulations for full details, below.

Submissions will be received until May 2, 2014:

For more information please call 1-800-347-0676.

Presented by Big Dog 92-7/Bell Media. Produced by SaskMusic.


Please note, you must be a Saskatchewan resident, and at least 16 years of age as of June 26, 2014.

1) Review the Rules and Regulations (PDF)

2) Fill in the online entry form including all requested information, before midnight on May 2.

If you are selected as one of the 10 semi-finalists, you'll be notified by the end of May.

The Finals show, where the Top 3 Finalists will be performing live, is scheduled for Thursday, June 26 in Regina.

For more information please contact Lorena Kelly, SaskMusic, 1-800-347-0676 or email