Saskatoon Musicians Association's Gala Showcase 2023


Alexis Normand
Brad Johner
Carla & the Carreratones
Martin Janovsky
Weber/Graham Trio


  • October 5, 2023 - Doors at: 6:30pm / Showtime: 7:30pm

In celebration of its 113th year the Saskatoon Musicians' Association's proud to present Gala Showcase 2023. Featured Local 553 performers include awarding-winning singer-songwriter Brad Johner, the Weber/Graham trio featuring guest artist Alexis Normand, longtime Piano Fridays favourite Martin Janovsky, exciting five-piece acid-jazz funk band FunkJoint, and newly-minted pop music group Carla & the Carreratones. These fifteen brilliant musicians and five spectacular acts combine to make one memorable evening!

Date: October 5, 2023 
Location: The Bassment 202 4th Ave. N,, Saskatoon. 
Doors: Open at 6:30 p.m. Show at 7:30 p.m. 

Saskatoon Musicians' Association Ticket Hotline 306-477-2506
Tickets: $30 for Saskatoon Jazz Society members 

Featured performers this year: 
Weber/ Graham - Both musicians are classically trained multi­instrumentalists. With Weber on the sax and Graham on the vibes, the duo creates their own brand of experimental jazz. 
Brad Johner - CCMA award-winner, Brad Johner joins the Gala Showcase lineup for a stripped down singer/songwriter set. 
FunkJoint - Led by Sauvelm McClain, the five-piece band garnered 
recognition for its unique brand of acid-jazz and revels in tight funk 
Martin Janovsky - Piano Fridays mainstay, Martin Janovsky will bring his extraordinary talents to Gala Showcase 2023. 
Carla & The Carreratones - While the exciting five-piece band is newly minted, the group is made up of seasoned veterans led by the powerful vocals of Carla Carignan. 

Kenny Shields Special Recognition Award 
The Saskatoon Musicians' Association formally dedicated an annual Special Recognition Award for dedicated service to the professional arts in the name of lifetime Local 553 member Kenny Shields in 2017. Shields joined the Saskatoon Musicians' Association in 1971 and remained a member until 2009. He and Streetheart rolled up 4 platinum, and 6 gold albums on their way to a spot in the Western Canadian Music Hall of Fame in 2003. Previous Special Recognition Award winners have included Saskatchewan Poet Laureate Don Kerr (2018), Saskatoon Symphony Society President, Lynn Ewing (2019), and Arts presenter Jim Hodges (2017). This year the Kenny Shields Special Recognition award is presented to John Arcand, master of the Metis fiddle. 

Get your tickets HERE. 

Back to Events